Home > About AIG > Who are we?

Who are we?

What is the International Academy of Gastronomy (AIG*)?


It is a transnational network of men and women with a privileged interest in gastronomy.

Founded in 1983 by five national Academies of Gastronomy, representing five different countries (Spain, France, Britain, Italy and Switzerland), it can only include as members national or regional Academies of Gastronomy. AIG is an international federation of Gastronomic Academies.


In 2016 about thirty Academies from around the world have joined IAG, each retaining autonomy and management.


Member countries can be found in the European Union, the Middle East, Japan, the Americas (North, Central and South) and Africa, which allows an indisputable international recognition.

From a legal standpoint, IAG is a private, non-profit association under French law. It is headquartered in Levallois-Perret (France), a suburb of Paris and registered in the Hauts-de-Seine district.


The official language of AIG is French. However, most documents are also published in English.

It has a budget, voted annually by the General Assembly. It is funded by contributions from Member Academies and by voluntary grants from corporations and individuals. Its accounts are approved by a Certified Public Accountant, a member of the French National Chamber of auditors.


As a result, any person interested in the activities of the AIG must first contact the national Academy of his country of residence of nationality and apply for individual membership. When an individual member is admitted in a National Academy, then he can apply for any AIG activity, in particular gastronomic trips it organizes or supervises.


IAG has not claimed as yet to become a private NGO (Non-Governmental Organization). Nevertheless, it maintains an ongoing relationship with several international organizations, including:

  • FAO in Rome. (Information Note n°7)
  • WHO (World Health Organization), Geneva.
  • UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization), Paris.
  • The European Union (Commission and Parliament), Brussels.
  • The Union for the Mediterranean, Barcelona.


* Registered and protected name by INPI


  • Information Note n°43

    January-December 2021

  • Information Note n°42

    May-December 2020

  • Information Note n°41

    January-April 2020

  • Information Note n°40

    October-December 2019

  • Information Note n°39

    June-September 2019

  • Information Note n°38

    March-May 2019